Meet the Breaking the Bronze Ceiling Steering Committee

Rob Bolson


Breaking the Bronze Ceiling—an initiative to erect a monument in downtown Lexington this August to commemorate the anniversary of the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment which granted women the right to vote—is powered by a small group of dynamic Kentucky women and men from varying backgrounds and diverse walks of life. As fundraising for the noteworthy public art project continues and draws ever closer to the goal of $530,000, meet the steering committee faces behind the scenes these past three years from conception to near completion. 

Chaired by Lexington City Councilmember Jennifer Mossotti and Vice Chair, Councilmember Kathy Plomin, the committee is made up of Rebecca Byers, Astarre Gudino, Georgia Henkel, Dr. Randolph Hollingsworth, Janet Holloway, Lisa Higgins-Hord, Dr. Jennifer Jackson, Heather Lyons, Lori Meadows, Victoria Meyer, Judge Melissa Murphy, Foster Ockerman, Jr., Kelli Parmley, Kathy Simon, Jenifer Wuorenmaa and former Lexington Vice Mayor Isabel Yates.

From government officials to artists and educators, authors and historians, arts consultants, lawyers, judges and other notable community leaders, these dedicated individuals along with several prominent and community-minded local businesses have all pulled together to ensure the outcome will be an engaging and lasting tribute to the important historical contributions of numerous strong women from Central Kentucky history—and something our entire community can look upon with great pride.  

Learn more about the project and consider a donation of support at: