Universities vie for seed money at Alltech Innovation


WHAT:            Initiated by Dr. Pearse Lyons in 2012 as a means of encouraging innovation and entrepreneurship, the annual Alltech Innovation Competition will welcome the largest group of competitors in its history. Ten Kentucky universities will go head-to-head, presenting their plans for new business ventures. The winners of the undergraduate and graduate categories will be awarded $10,000 each, the same amount with which Dr. Lyons founded Alltech.


WHEN:            Saturday, April 28, 2018

                          8:00 a.m. EDT


WHERE:       Bluegrass Community & Technical College – Leestown Campus

                        Building C Conference Room

                        164 Opportunity Way

                        Lexington, KY 40511


MORE:           Now in its sixth year, the competition has traditionally encouraged entries that focus on animal nutrition, food, crop science, or brewing and distilling — Alltech’s business sectors. However, in the spirit of ONE: The Alltech Ideas Conference, which features the theme “ideas change everything,” this year’s competition will welcome innovative ideas on a broad array of subjects. Teams from the following Kentucky universities will compete:


Bellarmine University

Berea College

Eastern Kentucky University

Georgetown College

Morehead State University

Murray State University

University of Kentucky

University of Louisville

University of Pikeville

Western Kentucky University


                       Learn more about the Alltech Innovation Competition here.